Prof. Tobias Geyer

ABB System Drives, Switzerland

(Fellow of IEEE)

Short biography: Tobias Geyer (Fellow, IEEE, 2022) received the Dipl.-Ing. degree in electrical engineering, the Ph.D. in control engineering and the Habilitation degree in power electronics from ETH Zurich in the years 2000, 2005 and 2017, respectively. After his Ph.D., he spent three years at GE Global Research, Munich, Germany, three years at the University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand, and eight years at ABB’s Corporate Research Centre, Baden-Dättwil, Switzerland. In 2020, he joined ABB’s Medium-Voltage Drive division as R&D platform manager of the ACS6080. In 2022, he became a Corporate Executive Engineer. Working at the intersection of industry and academia he is also an extraordinary Professor at Stellenbosch University, Stellenbosch, South Africa, from the year 2017 until 2023. He is the author of more than 35 patent families, 150 publications and the book “Model predictive control of high power converters and industrial drives” (Wiley, 2016). He teaches a regular course on model predictive control at ETH Zurich. His research interests include medium-voltage and low-voltage drives, utility-scale power converters, optimized pulse patterns and model predictive control. Dr. Geyer received the PELS Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award in 2022, the Semikron Innovation Award in 2021, and the Nagamori Award in 2021. He also received two Prize Paper Awards of IEEE Transactions and two Prize Paper Awards at IEEE conferences. He is a former Associate Editor of the Transactions on Industry Applications (from 2011 until 2014) and the Transactions on Power Electronics (from 2013 until 2019). He was an International Program Committee Vice Chair of the IFAC conference on Nonlinear Model Predictive Control in Madison, WI, USA, in 2018. Dr. Geyer is a Distinguished Lecturer of the Power Electronics Society from the year 2020 until 2023.

Prof. Zita Vale

Polytechnic of Porto, ISEP, Portugal

(Google Scholar with h-index of 55)

Short biography: Zita Vale works in the area of Power Systems, with special interest in network planning and operation. She has been working in the application of Artificial Intelligence techniques to Power Systems since 1988. She has been involved in several projects involving the development and use of Knowledge-Based systems, Multi-Agent systems, Genetic Algorithms, Neural networks, Particle Swarm Intelligence, Constraint Logic Programming and Data Mining. The main application fields of these projects are: - Control Center applications, namely intelligent alarm processing, intelligent interfaces and intelligent tutors; - Electricity markets, addressing prices and tariffs, decision-support for market participants, ancillary services, derivatives market, pricing and market simulation; - Smart Grids, accommodating an intensive use of Renewable Energy Sources, Distributed Energy Resources (DER) and Distributed Generation (DG), addressing the management of energy resources, the impact of DER on electrical networks, the negotiation of DER in electricity markets, demand response, and electrical vehicles, including the ones with gridable capability (V2G). She is the Director of GECAD - Knowledge Engineering and Decision-Support Research Center, a research center with more than one hundred researchers, settled at ISEP/IPP. She is a coordinator researcher of GECAD where she coordinates the Power and Energy Systems group.

Prof. Zhe Chen

Leader of Wind Power Research Program
Aalborg University, Denmark

(Fellow of IET, Fellow of IEEE)

Short biography: Zhe Chen received the B.Eng. and M.Sc. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Northeast China Institute of Electric Power Engineering, China, in 1982, 1986 respectively, the Ph.D. degree in Power and Control, from University of Durham, England, in 1997. Dr Chen has been a Professor with the Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg University, Denmark since 2002. He is the Danish Principle Investigator for Wind Energy of Sino-Danish Centre for Education and Research (SDC). The leader of Wind Power System Research program at the Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg University. Professor Chen’s main current research interests are wind energy and modern energy systems. He has led and participated many international and national research projects. He is a Fellow of IEEE, a Fellow of IET (London, U.K.) and a Chartered Engineer in the U.K.